Download Thumbnails from Rolling spider

Product: [Rolling Spider]
Product version: [X.X.X]
SDK version: [Sample]
Use of libARController: [YES/NO] (Only for ARSDK)
SDK platform: [Android]
Reproductible with the official app: [YES/NO/Not tried]

Hi,

I am a beginner and I have got stuck at this point.

I want to download thumbnails not the full size pictures from my rolling spider. So I tried to make some modifications to the SDCardModule included in the Android SDKSample. I have tried with the codes provided online but it is especially for Bebop drone so I cannot use it for Rolling Spider. Is there anyone can help me with this problem? Please!

Thanks in advance!

Hi,

To get the thumbnails in the SDK Sample, you just have to change the call to mediasDownloader.getAvailableMediasSync() in the SDCardModule.java file (line 206): Change the argument from false to true and the thumbnails will be downloaded for each ARDataTransferMedia in the list.

You can then get the thumbnails for each media with the media.getThumbnail() method. This methods returns a byte[] which should be decoded as a jpeg image. The following code is an example of how to display a thumbnail in an ImageView:

public void displayThumbnail(ARDataTranferMedia media, ImageView iw) {
    byte [] data = media.getThumbnail();
    Bitmap b = BitmapFactory.decodeByteArray(data, 0, data.length);
    iw.setImageBitmap(b);
}

Regards,
Nicolas.

Hi Nicolas,

Thank you very much for your reply. I’m going to try it today and to see how it works.

Best,
Yishu

Hi Nicolas,

Sorry for the late feedback. I tried following your instruction and thumbnails can be got now. Thank you so much!

Regards,
Xiaoxiao_Su

Hi, I have a question. When you download the thumbnails, can drone hover? or you download thumbnails after drone has landed?

Hi,

Now I just make the thumbnails show on the screen and have not achieved exactly downloading them and saving them to the local directory.I may do this task later.