Feedback on current state of Parrot SDKS

Hey Hi, I have a Parrot Mambo mission, I have been in contact with @Jerome and thought I would provide some feedback on the current state of programming drones with Parrot.

My gut feeling is that programming drones the way I want to do (with actual code) is not the main focus of Parrot. The main focus of Parrot sdk seems to be more geared towards education with tools like Tynker and Blocky. And that’s great! Teaching kids to have fun doing some programming with drones is clearly awesome.

Now onto the more “geeky” ways to code, with say JavaScript or Node.js. There’s right now not a single good solution for that.

I just saw you updated https://edu.parrot.com/apps.html with minidrone-js and pyparrot. minidrone-js is currently broken and is a low level API and pyparrot does not works on macos for BLE only drones.

Here’s what, as a developer, I seek as an API in JavaScript:

• const drone = pdrone({filter: uuid => return uuid === ‘vvodrone’});
  • drone.connect() => Promise
  • drone.disconnect() => Promise
  • drone.takeOff() => Promise resolved when drone has completed takeOff (not just when command acked)
  • drone.claw.open() => Promise resolved when drone’s claw has completed open
  • etc… you get it

^ This is what I am trying to achieve but to do so I need to swim into a giant PDF document from 2015 describing a low level protocol that I am not at all good at decyphering. I consider myself a good API designer in JavaScript, not someone that grasp what does little endian means or someone that can craft raw buffer by hand.

Then you have to dig even more into obscure forum discussions containing even more protocol details that are not in the PDF etc…

At the end of the journey, I am just trying to drone.claw.open() and it took me ages, and I am not even yet having a good control flow with Promises etc because I have no idea how to link the command sent to the ACKS sent by the drone etc…