Skycontroller Reconnect Issue & Request for SDK Info

While validating skycontroller I have noticed that there is a 5-7 second gap between deviceController’s final STOPPED state and when you can reconnect.

This appears to be tied to a socket timeout.

Also, when may we expect to see some data on hacking the Skycontroller? I am very keen on this topic as I am an avid Android developer very familiar with custom device builds.

Hi,

Yes, there is a 5 second delay between disconnecting a device and reconnecting a device to the SkyController (There is actually the same delay in the drones, but there is a workaround inside to allow the a re-connection of the same device with a shorter time gap). It does not come from your application, and the result is the same with FreeFlight. We might port the workaround to SkyController at some point, but this is not a priority at the moment as this fix is mainly done to avoid a 5 sec delay when reconnecting to a drone after a connexion loss, and connection loss between a controller and the SkyController are expected to be rare.

Regarding the data to develop an app on the SkyController, here are some insights:

• You can connect to the SkyController using adb and the micro usb port after adding the “0x0525” vendor id to your adb_usb.ini file (and restarting your adb server). Note that booting the SkyController with the micro usb plugged will not work (in this case, the SkyController boots in flashing mode only), so you’ll have to plus the cable after switching on the SkyController.
  • Most of the things are integrated through Android:
    • “Long range” wifi can be controlled by the Android WifiManager (except for country changes, see below)
    • Gamepad will be reported as any other HID gamepad would be on Android (MotionEvents/KeyEvents)
    • Sensors (GPS, Orientation) are accessed through the Android API (SensorEvents)
  • Other things are not: