Using phone gyroscope to control Rolling Spider

Product: [Rolling Spider]
Product version: [latest?]
SDK version: [3.10.1]
Use of libARController: [YES] (Only for ARSDK)
SDK platform: [Android]
Reproductible with the official app: [Not tried]

Hi!

I’m new to Android development. I was trying to modify the sample code to use the phone’s IMU to control the drone, similar to how it is implemented in FreeFlight Mini in Normal mode.

I was trying to follow this game developer’s tutorial for implementing this in his game ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vqvJn4G3NMM ), and make the necessary changes to work for the minidrone sample code, but it keeps crashing when it tries to register the orientation data.

I was wondering if this code might already be in the Sample code or somewhere else publicly available?

If not, any general direction on how to do this would be greatly appreciated.

Hi,

I’ve done a small open-source side project that uses the accelerometer of an Android Wear device to control the drones.
The accelerometer part can be easily used directly in a phone’s app.
Here is the part where the accelerometer data is get.

Hope this helps,
Best regards,
Djavan

Awesome. Thank you for the help!

Hi,

I’m currently working on a similar project for a hobby. I wanted to use a phone’s gyroscope and/or accelerometer data to control the flight of the drone. Thus I was wondering if this code can be implemented with just an Android phone, or whether it is necessary to have a Wear device? Also, can this project be used to control the Parrot Mambo?

Thanks!

Hi,

For your first question:

For your second question:
This project can be used to control the Parrot Mambo yes.

Regards,
Djavan

Hi Djavan,

Thank you! This really helps.

Hi Djavan,