Connection and control for Jumping Sumo or Bebop via MATLAB

Hello,

I am studying on autonomous indoor navigation, and have been tried some applications under Linux C/C++ environment. However, still I am more familiar with MATLAB, so I want to try something under MATLAB environment, too.

I found some previous works done by developers for Parrot AR Drone 1.0 and 2.0 using MATLAB, but I cannot find the one for Parrot AR Drone 3.0 generation such as Jumping Sumo or Bebop Drone.

Is there anybody who can give some tips to use MATLAB for communication with Jumping Sumo or Bebop Drone?

Basically, as I know, for both Jumping Sumo and Bebop Drone, the TCP/IP connection must be established between PC and drones for discovery using port 44444, and then real-time communication such as receiving data and sending commands can work via UDP connection.using port 54321 for device to controller and port 43210 for controller to device.

The basic communication commands and scripts that I suppose for this is following lines, for example, but it does not work well for some reason.

% Jumping Sumo Communication Test

% Creating TCP/IP Discovery Connection
JSd = tcpip(‘192.168.2.1’, 44444, ‘NetworkRole’, ‘server’);
% Opening TCP/IP ports
fopen(JSc);
% Creating UDP Real-Time Connection
% Command Port
JSc = udp(‘192.168.2.1’, 54321);
% Navdata Port
JSn = udp(‘192.168.2.1’, 43210);
% Opening UDP ports
fopen(JSc)
fopen(JSn)

% Sending a packet of some bytes on Navdata Port
fwrite(JSn, 1);

For reference, I attach following link, and please note that it is for Parrot ARDrone 1.0.

Seems like I have to send following command in JSON format
{“controller_type”:“computer”, “controller_name”:“JScontroller”, “d2c_port”:“43210”}
before try udp connection, but how can I send command in JSON format in MATLAB?

Does it work at the end?

You can use the jsonencode MATLAB function to convert a structure in MATLAB to JSON.