Parrot Mambo - Python

Hi,

I am a school teacher wanting to engage my students in Computer Science. I love the idea of our students using the Parrot Mambo and programming it with Python. I have found a few tutorials for the AR Drone, but none for the Mambo.

Is it possible (read: practical) to program the Mambo with Python in a classroom setting?

Alternatively, is there any other small drones that can be programmed with Python?

Hi Sletts021 .

My father is a teacher too , and will like to use python for programming mambo parrot drone , I saw your wish was excatly like his wish , did you find any solution for it ?
Thank you Sletts

Adrian

I have released a python interface for the mambo. It was posted on the forum here a few weeks ago.

Awesome! I am ordering a mambo tomorow now!

Can I donate?

Glad to help! :slight_smile: I’m doing it for the students also! There will be an international K-12 educational curriculum and contest we intend to roll out next fall. We are demo-ing in the spring.

I just checked out the FPV! That will be so amazing if/when you can code it.

Thanks again - just waiting on the mambo to arrive!

@CaptainSaavik - Would FPV mean that we could use OpenCV for object detection/facial recognition activities?

Yes! And I have it working, streaming into opencv. I just haven’t written it up nicely enough to release yet. I’ve got a lot of competing deadlines right now but I’ll get this one released soon!

So our Mambos arrived last week! I had the chance to play with the Pi - so good. One dependency that wasn’t in the docs is bluepy and bluepy-helper
$ sudo apt-get install python-pip libglib2.0-dev
$ sudo pip install bluepy

But that wasn’t hard. I really wanted a way for kids to be able to program from their laptops (Windows)… it turns out using VirtualBox was a relatively simple way to achieve this. The only caveat is that they need access to device manager to disable bluetooth and re-enable it for it to be captured in the vm.