Programming autonomous flight for multiple drones

Hi there,

I am brand new to drones/development and I was hoping someone advise me regarding the best drone to get or the limitations of different approaches.

My story is that I am a software developer and I am helping a friend of mine who is creating an art exhibition 6 weeks from now. It is a closed space and the idea would be to have several drones flying around in a “fly like” manner. There would be no people in the room itself but visitors would be able to look in through windows all across the space.

It seems to me that the parrot line of drones fit my needs as they support indoor flight out of the box and also have an open client API for programatic flight.

So far I have purchased the Mambo FPV to test and play with. I have tried a few javascript (nodejs) libraries with limited success so far. These all have connected to the drone over BLE. I have also found the excellently documented https://pyparrot.readthedocs.io which has actually taught me alot about the various sensors available on the mambo but have not tried it yet as I am not so familiar with python.

So to my questions:

1. Firstly, has anyone ever done anything similar to this, are my plans unrealistic? Forgetting for the moment the short battery life and the issues arising from that, is the sensor data and rate at which it is sent accurate enough for me to avoid things such as collisions with walls and/or other drones?
  2. Connecting via BLE seems like it would be easier to do as I can connect to multiple devices without the restraint of joining each individual drone’s wifi network, but as I understand it not all sensor data is sent via this method. Is it true that the altitude is only available on WIFI?