Newbie question: altering the forward speed while taking photogrammetric photos

Hi, I thinking of getting an Anafi AI with the intention of nadir photographs for photogrammetry. As I want the maximum resolution the flight height will be in the region of 20-30 metres. I’m told that the AAI forward speed is high using the Anafi software. Is there a way to reduce this either in the software or using the SDK?

The purpose is to take images of an archaeological excavation in a target area of typically 100x200m.

I’m completely new to the Parrot world.
Dave

Hi David,

Welcome to the parrot community. I assume that by forward speed you refer to the speed at which the drone is moving forward. If you need to specify the speed at which the drone moves you can use the “extended moveBy” command. See the Olympe documentation.

Example use case

drone(extended_move_by(10, 0, 0 0, 100, 0, 0,_timeout=60))

Here i tell the drone to move forwards (displacement along x axis) by 10 meters with a maximum horizontal speed of 100 m/s.

Also see How to set the speed for moveBy for similar problem.

Hope this helps.

1 Like

Hello @David,

If you use the FreeFlight (iOS application) photogrammetric solution for your acquisition then the default settings are to go as fast as possible for the required resolution and height, as to minimize the flight time required.

If you find that speed to be too high, then you can either use FreeFlight to create a custom Flight Plan (FP) to capture your nadir photographs at the speed you desire or create your own iOS application (based on OpenFlight or GroundSdk) and specify the speed as you want.

Unless you use the default photogrammetry solution that FreeFlight proposes, you can customize the speed to your needs.

Why a high forward speed could be an issue to you? What is exactly what makes you want to lower the forward speed?