PDrAW in Docker?

Hello,

I have installed PDrAW on my Mac before, but now I am trying to make it run in a Ubuntu container in Docker on a Windows 10 machine.

I’m not a programmer, and I have limited experience with Docker, so I’m not sure exactly where the problem lies, and I’m hoping someone can help me in the right direction.

When I get to the point where I need to install repo, I get the message that there is no such file or directory. I’ve tried

curl https://storage.googleapis.com/git-repo-downloads/repo > ~/bin/repo
bash: /root/bin/repo: No such file or directory

I’ve also tried manually downloading repo and copy it from my local machine into /bin/repo. I can see it in the /bin folder but the system refuse to recognize it.

root@9c0bf3f8ffd:/# chmod a+x ~/bin/repo
chmod: cannot access ‘/root/bin/repo’: No such file or directory

I have a theory that it might related to the default Docker user being root, but I don’t know how to get around it?

Of course, as soon as I hit post I figured it out :sweat_smile:

It was looking in the root user folder, but the folder is just /bin. When I removed /root and ~ from the commands it worked flawlessly.

It took a bit more trial and error, I ended up creating a user specifically for running PDrAW, and it was installed successfully. I managed to extract a .csv file from a video using vmeta-extract.

However, when I try to run the PDrAW viewer I get an error. Is this due to limitations in Docker? Is there a way around this? Can anyone chip in with some tips?

See below:

pdraw@9c0bf3f38ffd:~/code/groundsdk-tools$ ./out/groundsdk-linux/staging/native-wrapper.sh pdraw -u ~/Ubuntu/P4573520.MP

| _ \ \ _ _ /\ \ / /
| / |) | '/ _ \ // /
|
| |_/||// __/_/

Parrot Drones Awesome Video Viewer
Copyright (c) 2016 Aurelien Barre
Copyright (c) 2017 Parrot Drones SAS

Offline playing of file ‘/home/pdraw/Ubuntu/P4573520.MP4’

error: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set in the environment.